On Friday, We Feast

Hello, January. You’ve been kind to me so far. The weather has been unseasonably warm and this coming week is no exception. Although weather in the 50’s is great, it’s not ideal for this time of year. Then again, remember when it was in the 60’s on Christmas two years ago? Kind of an improvement. (But again, it’s New York.) I started to get into bullet journaling, or at least figuring out what to do with an empty Moleskine I didn’t have any use for until I couldn’t find a suitable planner for this year. The bullet journal inspiration blogs have been eye opening: they’re incredibly creative and organized and pulled me away from the computer. I pulled out my colored pencils and markers as I filled pages with my calendar of updates and future plans. This, however, lasted for as long as I thought it would: a couple of weeks before I decided to write long, lengthy paragraphs, started doodling on the side, and converted it into a diary, but with time stamps and glued-on tickets from trips to museums.

Speaking of — the Whitney Museum of American Art was pay-as-you-wish on January 20. I bolted there with my parent after 5:00 PM, taking the E train all the way down to 16th street/8 ave. The walk, especially at night, was pleasant. I don’t frequent the neighborhood at all. Plenty of stores and food halls have opened up. The Chelsea Market and Google HQ aren’t far at all from there. New, modern buildings have sprung up. It’s a nice mix between modernity and history the closer you get to the Hudson River.

Several exhibits at the Whitney stood out to me.

tumblr_ok427v302s1qdacmlo1_1280tumblr_ok427v302s1qdacmlo2_1280

These two are from a couple of different exhibits. The first was of a video of nuclear testing being done in the Marshall Islands. It’s eery to watch, especially with the uncertainty happening now (and also to see a crowd of mostly young people huddle quietly in the dark to watch the awesome power that such a weapon can have). The second photo is connected to the events that unfolded on Saturday: one of raised fists at protests, from leaders including MLK Jr., Jane Fonda, and even Richard Nixon.

Afterward, I made my mother walk down to Greenwich Village for about twenty-five minutes. We stopped at a Russian dumpling cart (promo for Natasha and the Great Comet of 1812 — been meaning to see it) on the West 4th street F train stop. They were alright. The sour cream and dill topping was ideal but the pelmeni themselves tasted slightly rubbery. The real objective of the trip down was to visit Manousheh for the second Friday in a row. I previously stopped by the week before after an interview as a reward. I’d seen it somewhere before and was immediately taken in by ‘cheap eats’ and ‘Lebanese street food’. So I came away with two ‘cocktails’ with veggies ($8 each) and a flatbread with cheese for my brother. The second time, I took two ‘cocktails’ with veggies with my mother, then went on our way home. It’s always cool to see the delicious flat breads being made in the oven in person while waiting. Also, the staff is super friendly. The second time I went was also the second time the person behind the counter remarked how they liked my name because it’s from one of their fave movies (ha!).

And because it was Friday, I pulled out my favorite mug from Strand that I received for Christmas (with a quote by Michelle Obama on it).

 

